Fear

Fear showed up today.  He invaded; crashing down and leaving no room for joy, hope, and faith.  Anxiety and doubt came along, too.   Waves of pure, undiluted emotion swept me away.

I mean almost swept me away.  Because I have an anchor for my soul.

Fear is more than just an emotion.  Fear is physical.  It overpowers, diluting the senses and leaving no room for anything but itself.

The Bible has much to say on fear.  We are commanded to fear the Lord.   How often does my fear of the Lord consume me like my fears did today?

Today, I needed the emotional release of crying.  It was good to weep over dreams lost and a future so uncertain.  It was good to share my tears with my husband;  it was right to call my sister  and share my tears with her.

Psalm 34:4:  I sought the Lord, and he answered me and delivered me from all my fears.

I know my fears will come back, along with anxiety and grief and pain.  But I also know that I do not need to go through them alone.  The One I am commanded to fear is with me.  Surely he has borne our griefs and carried our sorrows.

Psalm 94:19:    When my anxious thoughts multiply within me, your consolations delight my soul.

3 comments on “Fear

  1. Jeni Savig says:

    Thanks Nancy, for sharing your honest struggle with fear and the deeper anchor of Christ. I am praying for you all and eager to hear what the Lord reveals next week.

  2. Liza DeGarmo says:

    Nancy, I am praying for peace that passes all understanding. I am also praying that there will be conclusive results from May 27.
    We love you!

  3. Bob Kauflin says:

    Thanks for your honest expressions of fear and as well as your continued trust in God’s faithfulness, Nancy. You and Ben continue to be in my prayers. Amazing to think that God’s grace in Christ is deeper than our greatest fears. He is good.

Leave a Reply

