I Want to Know the Future

“If God conceals anything, He does so to cause us to trust in Him.  What we already know leaves little room for trust.  Conversely, we have to depend on Him for what we do not know.  Providence sends us various trials and all of them are for the purpose of exercising and increasing our faith.”  Charles Spurgeon

I want to know the future.  God wants to increase my faith.

I want to know what will happen to us.  God wants me to trust Him.

Would you  pray for me and Ben right now?  Our circumstances are so changeable, and trusting God looks different every day.  Sometimes I feel like we are the unstable man described in James 1, whose faith is “like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind.”  Other times I am aware that though we are driven and tossed, we definitely have a strong anchor that is holding us, “a sure and steadfast anchor of the soul” (Hebrews 6).

Oh how thankful I am that it is not my hold that keeps me, but His hold on me.

I want to know the future.  I can pray for our circumstances.  But even more, I pray that our future yields a more vibrant faith, a more childlike trust, and a closer walk with God.

Please join me in that prayer.

(Ben has now been seizure free for 3 full weeks.  And though we don’t fully understand why, we are so thankful for this rest period for his brain!)

One comment on “I Want to Know the Future

  1. Happy Birthday Nancy! May our God continue to comfort, strengthen and guide you.

Leave a Reply

