First Week of School

Ah, if only I consistently took pictures.  I don’t have any, so I’ll have to paint a picture with my words.

Our first week of school was busy, exhilarating, exhausting, and enlightening.  For all of us, it’s been a big ADJUSTMENT.

Meg is now in school all day, which is a change from 1/2 day kindergarten.  She’s enjoying first grade, but when she’s tired she complains about how much she misses being home with mommy.  She had a huge meltdown this morning at 7am.  Thankfully, the meltdown ended before she left for school.   I think the promise of pizza and a movie night  (while sitting on Mommy’s lap) did wonders for her.

Emily is in her first year of Middle School, and she reminds us of this every day!  She joined the Cross-Country team and is running several miles after school 3 days each week.  I am so proud of her because I know this isn’t easy..and she’s enjoying it, despite the hardships!  This is also the first year she has electives in school.  She wanted to do a few different ones, but was placed in the “Math Bowl” where she’ll compete against other schools to win the Math Championship.  Poor Emily…she was probably placed in this because of her good math grades, long before she received the questionnaire about which elective she wanted (Math Bowl was her last choice for elective).  But I am so pleased that she is being challenged.  And she’s glad, too, and even seemed pleased with the challenge she’ll encounter in this class.

Joel is adjusting to having girls in his classroom again, and he is doing well.  He’s also had a hard time getting up early for school…my boy who is normally the first one out of bed is now the hardest one to wake.  He expends himself so completely at school and after-school (playing with our new neighbors) that mornings have been a challenge for him this week.  It’s hard to think of my little boy as a big fourth grader now; I need to start expecting more from him!

I’ve been working 7 – 9 hour days and am physically worn out (and thankful for the weekend).  But I know I’ll get used to it.  The other teachers at CLS are incredibly supportive and helpful, and I am so very thankful for our school community.  It’s truly a remarkable place.  I love the caring atmosphere and the emphasis on excellence.  I love that I am going to be learning new things as I teach my students.  And I love the variety of the work that I do.  I could write an entire post on how different it is to teach choir this year (year two in the school) than last year (first year mandatory for all students).  But I’ll save that for another time!

Ben is home NOT having seizures (five weeks now!), and his attitude has been great.  It’s Ben’s attitude that has really made this transition easier on all of us.  He is leading our family by setting the atmosphere and working hard at keeping things disciplined, organized, and calm.  One extra blessing…occasionally, he’ll take extra meds if he starts to feel “weird.”  I’m just glad he’s aware enough to self-monitor and do this on his own.  It’s a huge change and more confirmation that his brain is focusing on healing itself.

For me, the best part has been getting to see the kids for brief snatches during my very busy days…and then coming home to my husband, who is doing all that he can to remain seizure free and help out in whatever ways he can.

I’ll close with a link to a You Tube video that the English Teacher in me just discovered.  It’s Weird Al Yankovic singing a parody of Bob Dylan.  The cool part is that every line is a palindrome.  And…they rhyme.  Take a minute to check this out, it’s really cool!

Have a great weekend, everybody!

This entry was posted in Family.

One comment on “First Week of School

  1. Mary says:

    Five weeks! That is awesome! What an answer to prayer–and reward for giving up beloved foods.

Leave a Reply

