How Weird it is…

Something strange has happened, recently.  Several acquaintances of mine have stopped me and commented on things I’ve posted on my blog.  It’s like, there are people out there — people whom I know (and some who I do not know, but who know my family), who know what’s going on in our lives.  Without our having any personal contact at all.

Usually, if someone knows what is going on in my life, it’s because we’ve engaged in a conversation.  And in our talk, I’ve been able to share in their lives as well.  Now, there are many people who know a bit about what is going on in my life…quirky things, serious things, things I’ve chosen to share out here in cyberspace.  I don’t know who these people are.  And I don’t know what’s going on in their lives.

I feel like I’ve become the friend who always talks about herself, but never really has time to listen (or enter into) someone else’s life.

This is a very strange place for me to be.  For years, I just assumed that I would be the person providing care for others, actively asking questions about friends’  lives and caring for them both in practical ways and in prayer.  Now, I am finding that people know much about me, while I am not really in a place to reciprocate.

Part of me is thinking, “Wow!  Maybe I should just stop writing this blog.”  It’s just too…public.  Exposing.  Part of me is wondering if God is really using my writing to encourage others or to help them in their faith.  But lately, it does seem as if God is answering the prayers prayed on our behalf because of the things I share on this blog.

So if you see me this week, I apologize for not knowing much about what is going on in your life.  But on your end, you can be sure of a few things:  after 2 weeks of teaching,  my feet hurt, my back is sore, and my throat is tired from speaking so much!  I always forget about what a physically demanding job teaching can be.  Please pray that my body adjusts (as I know it will) so that I will have the energy needed to really care for my family.  And please pray for Ben, that he would remain seizure free and that God would provide the perfect balance of work and rest for him as he is at home now full-time.  And finally, pray that my writing on this blog will reflect not on myself, but on the God who loves us and gave his life so that we could live forever in fellowship with him.

4 comments on “How Weird it is…

  1. We love you so much Nancy, and I see God being glorified through your choice to be transparent and humble. Thank you for being willing to disclose so much of your experience, through highs and lows.

  2. Mary says:

    I find the same thing with Facebook. It doesn’t replace relationship, but it’s nice to be able to keep up a little more with what is going on in peoples’ lives.

  3. Karen Lowe says:

    Nancy, I am SO thankful that you blog. I am SO thankful to know these parts of our life. It gives me a window in, when I wish I could be there every day. I love you, and pray for you. Maybe I’ll start blogging regularly too so you can “listen” to me too. LOVE you! Thanks for blogging!!!

    • bennance says:

      Yes, Karen! I want to listen to you, too. Of course, with 3 babies, a kindergartner, and a large move coming up, you probably shouldn’t be adding anything to your plate at this particular time. 🙂 But please do keep me informed about how you’re doing. I do so wish I knew you better.

Leave a Reply

