On Doing it All

“I am a mom who does it all.”  Ben's photos from HTC phone 1019

Do I have your attention yet?  There are many different meanings to the statement above.  It can be said with pride, stemming from thankfulness to God for being given so many roles, tasks, and (gulp) people.  It can be said in surprise, as life so often sneaks up on us and requires more from us than we ever could have imagined.   It can be said with tears as we think of all the things on our plate and the responsibilities awaiting us.  Or it can be said in exhaustion and weariness and perhaps, a little bit of regret.

Today I voice this statement with all of the sentiments described above.

I am a mom to three children.  I used to say three young children, but I don’t think that is a fair statement anymore.  Perhaps, if I wanted to be more descriptive, I should say “I am a mom to two young children and a pre-teen GIRL.”  Life has changed since my daughter turned twelve!

Christmas 2007I am a wife to a highly unpredictable man who suffers from seizures and an acquired brain injury.  I function as both lover and caretaker, prayerfully balancing my way through both roles in any given five minutes.

I am an employee who manages others and travels frequently, working full-time to support my family as my husband’s disability leaves him unable to work.

2-1I am a child of God, loved by the King and chosen to live with Him forever in eternity.  As I wait for that time, I strive to live fully and completely for His glory, empowered by the Holy Spirit, despite trials and tribulations (and now, teens!).

I am a reluctant expert on Brain Injury.

Life is both richer and more painful than I ever could have imagined.

“I am a mom who does it all.”  Who are you?

 

The Serenity Prayer

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
Taking, as He did, this sinful world
as it is, not as I would have it;
Trusting that He will make all things right
if I surrender to His Will;
That I may be reasonably happy in this life
and supremely happy with Him
Forever in the next.
Amen.

–Reinhold Niebuhr

– See more at: http://chosenfamilies.org/author/prosthetic-memory/page/3/#sthash.AtsTkqHO.dpuf

Leave a Reply

