On God’s Comfort

One of the things I love about this blog is how we can all relate to one another, even when the disabilities we live with are vastly different.

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. II Corinthians 1:3-4

Louise asked on a recent blog post, “Is this particular issue a result of (my son’s) disability or is it normal teenage behavior?”  I know this is a question I’ve wrestled with over the years, although the details of my circumstances are unique to me.

his past week, Ben lost his wallet.  In many families, this may be a common occurrence.  People can be absentminded.  Before Ben lost his memory, he was always misplacing things.  (I remember one morning when I was still in bed and Ben was getting ready for work.  After taking his socks out of the drawer, he simply could not find them.  He was so frustrated as he retraced his steps.  “I just had them,” he cried.  Finally he put on a new pair, perplexed by the mystery.  If I hadn’t gotten out of bed to hug him goodbye, he would have left for work wearing the first pair of socks slung over his shoulder!)

Now when Ben misplaces things, he experiences an overwhelming sense of failure and loss.  He is confronted by his limitations, reminded once again of the disability that he spends so much time trying to manage.  His behavior may not be strange or unusual … but our responses of grief and frustration are reminders that there is a hidden disability, that things are not “as they should be.”

The posts from other women on this blog encourage me by reminding me that I am not alone.  I can receive comfort from other women who have been comforted by Christ.  And by God’s grace, perhaps I can comfort someone as well.  Our circumstances may be different but there is enough overlap for us to walk alongside one another.  We can receive counsel, encouragement, and hope from the stories we share.  How thankful I am that God has created us uniquely His, with unique stories to share.  And how thankful I am that the strong and powerful Lord who created the heavens and earth is walking right along beside us.

Ben found his wallet, by the way.  It was on our bed, underneath the basket of clean laundry that he brought upstairs!

On another note, I’ve decided that Ben’s lost wallet is a metaphor for life with God, particularly for living a faith-filled life with someone with a disability.  We would not have given thanks if Ben never lost his wallet.  But because this key accessory was missing for a short time, we rejoiced when it was found.  If everyone in our familes were “neuro-typical,” we would be less likely to give thanks for the “small things.”

I would be a less thankful person if it were not for Ben’s disability.

~ Nancy

– See more at: http://chosenfamilies.org/author/prosthetic-memory/page/5/#sthash.fWEqqRin.dpuf

Leave a Reply

