On God’s Faithfulness

Do you know the Seeds CDs?  Seeds Family Worship is one of our favorite ministries.  Our family loves their music, and we have learned so much Scripture through their creative melodies and fun songs.

One of my favorite songs is Isaiah 26:3-4:

You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in you.

Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord, the Lord is a rock eternal.

I used to run to this song … a few years ago, back when I used to run (hey!  Maybe I’ll run again someday!)  But when I ran, I always heard the words “The Lord is a Rocky Turtle.”  So last year, I started collecting rocky turtles as a reminder of God’s faithfulness.

I purchased the first turtle on a whim; I saw a basket of rocky turtles in a store at the beach and thought it would be a fun gift.  So I bought the turtle and put it on my windowsill by the kitchen sink to remind me daily of God’s faithfulness.

Right now I have 3 rocky turtles sitting on my windowsill.  Each one serves as a reminder of God’s faithfulness at a specific point in my life.  The last one Ben gave to me for our 19th anniversary … I think it’s an amazing testimony of faith and faithfulness that we are still married and best friends with one another after all we’ve been through over these past nineteen years!

http://http://ui.uncc.edu/sites/default/files/imagecache/photo_large/photos/WEB_softshell_turtle.jpg When we were at the zoo this summer, I saw a large rocky turtle in the gift shop that I knew would fit perfectly into my collection.  We bought it in July, and I told Ben that he could give it to me when God answered a specific prayer in our lives.  I am not trying to demand anything from God; in fact, I know that this is the kind of prayer he delights to answer and I have faith that He will answer it, in time.

And so I believe that I am closer to receiving this Rocky Turtle.  I cannot wait to share with you more details and to let you know how God chooses to answer our prayer.  Perhaps I’ll even post a picture when our fourth (significantly larger) Rocky Turtle joins the other symbols of God’s faithfulness sitting immovably — and steadfastly — on my kitchen windowsill!

 

~ Nancy

 

– See more at: http://chosenfamilies.org/author/prosthetic-memory/page/4/#sthash.C2aZZ1Hu.dpuf

Leave a Reply

