On Shelter in the Storm

Most days, I am amazingly aware of how firmly our house is standing despite heavy winds, unrelenting rain, and occasional flooding.  Other days, all I notice is how weather-beaten the house has become.  How there are leaks in the ceiling and rot in the drywall.  How we’ve trampled mud throughout the carpeting and everything is damp and dreary.  Most days, all I can really think about is how much work is required just to keep the storm and its effects from overtaking our house.

The storm in our lives continues.  As with most storms, there are occasional moments when the rain lets up for a short season.  But for the most part, the storm clouds are never very far away and the driving rains continue to make us feel battered and worn.  I pray that I am building my house up in this season of storm, rather than tearing it down.

Some days I am more aware of the storm than I am of God’s protection.  Some days I am more aware of the storm than I am of God’s shelter.

I need to remember the most important thing of all:  that God is with us in the storm.  He has not left us nor forsaken us.

Isaiah 41:10

fear not, for I am with you;
be not dismayed, for I am your God;
I will strengthen you, I will help you,
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Isaiah 43:2

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you;
when you walk through fire you shall not be burned,
and the flame shall not consume you.

Thank you, Lord.  It is your presence that is keeping us in the midst of this storm.

~ Nancy

– See more at: http://chosenfamilies.org/author/prosthetic-memory/page/2/#sthash.zgtnEo8x.dpuf

Leave a Reply

