On Balancing Heaviness in our HeartsWith Hope

Abby and Meg http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/abbystoyupdate

I go through life with a constant, aching heaviness in my heart. My heaviness stems from my husband’s brain injury, his fatigue, and all he’s lost. But it also grows as I peripherally experience the pain of those around me. In January, our church family experienced a tragedy when two young girls were walking on the sidewalk and struck by an out-of-control car. The sixteen year old girl died; the thirteen year old sustained serious injuries including a broken pelvis and internal injuries. Four weeks ago, a dear friend was in a car accident and her 9-year old daughter, one of my daughter’s best friends, was severely injured, requiring immediate brain surgery and over a week of intubation.  Although she is progressing at an amazing rate, she will be in a rehab facility at least until mid-August.

So my heart remains heavy. With my own pain. With the pain of others. Additionally, as I get to know my new co-workers and listen to their stories, I am amazed at the sufferings each of these people have endured. With each new tragedy I discover or experience, my heart feels buried under the weight of living in a fallen world. Suffering falls equally on unbelievers and believers. But it is the hope of saving faith that sustains those of us who believe. It is this balance of living with pain and yet maintaining hope that separates those of us who are Christians.

Now hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what he sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.  –Romans 8:24-25

Sometimes I struggle balancing the pain I feel with the hope I know to be true.

But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. –I Corinthians 15:57

My prayer today is that the hope we have in Christ not only balances, but far outshines the heaviness in our hearts.

Nancy

Leave a Reply

