On Relying on God During Depression

“For we were so utterly burdened beyond our strength that we despaired of life itself. Indeed, we felt that we had received the sentence of death. But that was to make us rely not on ourselves but on God who raises the dead. He delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us. On him we have set our hope that he will deliver us again. You also must help us by prayer, so that many will give thanks on our behalf for the blessing granted us through the prayers of many.”  2 Corinthians 1:8 – 11

I am so thankful for this verse in the Bible, which reminds me that Paul, too, suffered and felt burdened beyond his strength.  At times, this walk of faith can feel burdensome.  I struggle to rely not on myself, but on God who raises the dead.

God raises the dead.  What beautiful words.  And Paul reminds me, “On him we have set our hope that he will deliver us again.”  God doesn’t just deliver once; He delivers again and again and again.  And what do we need?  “You also must help us by prayer, so that many will give thanks on our behalf for the blessing granted us through the prayers of many.”  We need the prayers of the saints.  I need your prayers.

I have several very specific prayer requests.  Many of these are a direct result of my husband’s disability (epilepsy and subsequent brain injury resulting in his being unable to work).  Some of these are not a result of his disability; however, they are still burdening me beyond my strength.  I need the prayers of the saints.  I need the reminder that these circumstances are to make me rely not on myself, but on God who raises the dead.  And I need to see God as a good and gracious provider, not as a capricious judge who withholds for no reason.

Some of these prayers I have been praying for years.  Some I have been praying for a shorter time.  But I am asking God for deliverance.  I am asking God for a miracle.  I am asking God for circumstantial change, as well as for heart change.

Won’t you join with me? I am tired of the burden my husband’s disability puts on me.  I am overwhelmed at the thought of providing for my entire family.  I am frightened at the thought of raising three children, two of whom are now teens, to love and obey God in the midst of my moodiness and the tumult that is our family life.  I am lonely in the midst of a huge church filled with many believers and friends.  I am longing for home.

I need to remember…God has put me in these circumstances to remind me to rely not on myself, but on Him.  He raises the dead.  He can answer my prayers.

In His time,

–nancy

Leave a Reply

